Home-made mashed potatoes

On Friday I took a trip to the beautiful little town of Mill Valley, which is in Marin. Every Friday morning starting around 9:30 and running into the early afternoon there is a farmers market at the Alco Shopping Center.  With a busy baseball schedule this weekend (playing 3 games in 2 days) and the crappy weather this was my only chance to go to a farmers market.  So, I borrowed a friend’s car and headed to Marin.  When I told my mom about this project she told me to use her mashed potatoes recipe because it was an easy and simple recipe and I would easily find the yukon gold potatoes I would need at the farmers market.  So, I found my potatoes and was able to undercover some information about where the potatoes I had came from and the company that runs the stand.  These potatoes came from a farm in San Juan Bautista, which is south of Gilroy in the South Bay.  The woman who runs the stand works for a company called Field of Dreams (which I thought was a cool name) and while running 4 stands a week, she always works the one in Mill Valley.  Her company has a total of 40 stands all over the Bay Area with 10 different ones open on both Saturday and Sunday and another 20 during the week.

So, after getting my potatoes I headed to the kitchen to try and tackle my mom’s recipe.  I started by peeling the skin off the potatoes, an esculent part of the potatoes, but would have added an unwanted texture to the mashed potatoes.  Next, I cut the potatoes into quarters and placed them in a large pot with a bay leaf and 2 tablespoons of salt.  I filled the pot with cold water until the potatoes were completely submerged and placed the pot on the stove at a medium-high heat.  After about 20-25 minutes and when the fork easily penetrated the potatoes it was time to drain the water and remove the bay leaf from the pot.  Meanwhile, I began heating a mixture of 2% milk and 2 tablespoons of I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter on a medium heat for just a few minutes.  I slowly added the milk/butter mixture to the potatoes in the pot while I used a masher to mash the potatoes.

It took about 25 minutes to mash the potatoes to a desirable place, but then they were ready to be served.  After serving the potatoes and getting some reviews and having some myself, I think they lacked some flavor because of my choice of milk and butter.  If I had used a cream and real butter I think there would have been a stronger flavor, but for a first time, I’d say it was a success!