Fancy Dillas!

Recently I have been a big of a friendly little green- KALE! However, I never venture away from the standard green curly leaf stuff that Lucky’s & Trader Joe’s carry. To broaden my kale horizons…I decided to experiment with the purple type! Purple kale has a beautiful aubergine (French for eggplant) purple steams. The leaves have an almost ombre coloring from a deep green to dark purple. Iza very purty plant! 🙂

So I ventured out in the rain to the Ferry Building downtown for the Ferry Plaza farmers market on Saturday. I knew that the Catalan Farms would be at the market today so I decided to return to them to pick up my pretty greens (or purples in this case!)

Once again it was time to figure out what to do with my pretty little leaves. So obviously I turned to Pinterest. I was just scrolling through some recipes while watching my latest television addiction…Prison Break! At the moment my two favorite convict brothers are on their way to Mexico & that gave me the craving for a good quesadilla. So I figured I would make it the right way!

This shows all of my inspiration! I saw this great salad with pomegranates and cheese, the greens in a grilled cheese sandwich, in one of the tabs you can see a quesadilla from the Pioneer women where she put some sautĂ©ed spinach in it. There’s another tab that shoe a quesadilla with some peaches and another with the recipe for homemade tortillas. I love the combination of cheese and fruit, so I figured I’ld use a fruit that I have also never cooked with before. To combine these new ingredients I decided to put all them all together and make one fancy oh so esculent quseadilla!

Purple Kale, Pomegranate & Goat Cheese Quesadilla 

amount of ingredients depend on how many you want to make

Tortillas

Purple Kale

Pomegranates

Goat’s Cheese

Mozzarella Cheese (this gives you the really melty pull apart effect)

Garlic Powder

Fresh Cracked Black Pepper

Red Pepper Flakes

1. Rip the leaves away from the steams on the Purple Kale and put into a large sautee pan. With the stove on high steam the kale by just poring a little bit of water into the pan and steam for a few minutes. Mix in spices to your taste. Once the kale is wilted, drain the liquid from the pan.

Look at all that purple juice! It's so much prettier than the green stuff that comes out from the green kale!

2. Spread the goats and mozzarella onto the tortilla. Add the kale and pomegranates. Heat up on the pan till cheese is melted and tortillas are golden brown.

The purple kale has a very different taste from the traditional green. It is more bitter and perfect against the tang of the goat’s cheese and burst of sweetness from the pomegranates. It’s a beautiful dish…almost looks like Christmas!

xoxo Stephanie