Chips & Salsa

My omnipresent Ipad...using it as a bookmark this time tehe

Alice Water’s is an amazing chef and restauranteurs that has dedicated her art to sustainability, education and is considered a pioneer of California cuisine. She is the owner of Chez Panisse in Berkley, advocate and Vice President of Slow Food International and author of multiple cookbooks. Her book, In The Green Kitchen: Techniques to Learn By Heart  is an amazing book, and I think it is such a necessary addition to any cookbook collection. Believe when it says “learn by heart,” because it is true! I’ve always wondered, how would I do if I was on something like Top Chef or Iron Chef. But to do something like that you NEED to have all of your recipes memorized. Each recipe comes from famous chefs that are known for their dedication to simplicity and using the best organic produce. Each only has a few ingredients and very simple steps. The great thing is it’s simplicity. I got this book from the library, but highly considering purchasing it! When making my recipe selection, I thought that I would go with something simple, but something that I never cook on my own.

 In my mind, chips and salsa is it’s own food group! My love for the perfectly spicy dip started from a young age. When I was two or three my parents were at a mexican restaurant, and I kept reaching for the salsa. obviously my mom kept pulling me back, but then I would let out an angry scream and cry and cry. To put an end to this disturbance, my dad told my mom to let me have a tiny taste figuring I wouldn’t like it and stop. Au contraire, I loved it and proceeded on eating the entire bowl! To till day, when I go to Mexican restaurants I always have to have my own bowl of salsa (usually more than one) 

Roasted Tomato & Tomatillo Salsa

Adapted from Rick Bayless’s Roasted Tomator or Tomatillo Salsa in Alice Water’s “In The Green Kitchen.” (I made a few adjustments and prepared it slightly differently)

2 serrano chilies

2 large garlic cloves

3 medium size ripe tomatoes ( I used two red and one yellow)

5 small tomatillos

1 shallot

salt

lime

handful of cilantro

1. Chop all your ingredients.

2. Put your chopped shallot and garlic in a hot pot with a little bit of heated olive oil.

3. Add your tomatoes, tomatillos and peppers. Cook at a mudium heat for about ten minutes.

4. Pour misture into a blender or food processor, add the cilantro & blend till a smooth consitency.

This salsa is great! I had to get all the ingredients from Lucky’s because I couldn’t find the tomatillos or peppers from a farmers market yet. So I had sure that everything was organic- do what you can I guess.

xoxo Stephanie