Sunday Clam Barbeque

Hello all, this past sunday was an interesting and enjoyable experience. As I woke up to wonderful weather for the first time in what seemed to be ages, I woke up hungry. So in stead of checking my email, Facebook and various other social media platforms, I decided to open “The Smithsonian Sustainable Seafood Cookbook” that I had borrowed from the library. The previous day I had gone on a “Brew Tour” with a bunch of my friends. On the tour we stop at the Lagunitas brewery in the east bay. At the brewery they had barbecued oysters. Me being a lover of seafood decided I would make some type of shellfish for my class project.

After searching the index of the book, I found the perfect sunday afternoon barbeque delight. the recipe I chose was “wood roasted clams with saffron tomatoes and garlic”. When going to buy the ingredients i thought that i would switch it up a little bit and instead of saffron I used cilantro. To add to the list I added a jalapeno as well as lemon juice to give it a little extra kick.

The Ingredients

Next ,my friend Harley and I broke into teams, Him roasting the clams on the barbeque until they popped open, and me creating the sauce used to garnish the clams. Once the clams were ready they were brought inside and sat next to the spicy garnish in which I had created. We than began to dig in vigorously, to the point where shells were literally flying everywhere.

Action Shot!!!

Now I know this picture does not do the recipe justice, but as we all know I am a fan of the action shot so I had to throw one in there. The outcome however did look a little something like this…..

Delicate Clams

I know I know, eating good right? In all actuality the total for all of the ingredients including the 3 pounds of clams I purchased it came out to about $24. that being said there were a lot of left over veggies that were used to make the garnish. Now this isn’t a appetizer I could afford everyday but hey it was a class assignment and I have missed a couple classes. Anyways, to get back to the story of the day, within 10 minutes and about 5 people eating the “pre-meal” it ended up looking something like this.

Leftovers

This appetizer took about 30 minutes total to make. the process would have moved faster but hey, it was a Sunday.

The Recipe:

– However many pounds of Clams you would like to eat. put them on the grill/barbeque until they open and then take them of or they will burn.

The Garnish (aka the tasty stuff):

-1 cup of diced Tomatoes, (as small as you would like)

–  2 Shallots (or in my case Cilantro)

– 1 tablespoon minced Garlic

– Juice of 1 Lemon

– 1 diced Jalapeno

– 1/2 cup white wine vinegar or chardonnay vinegar

-1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

– 1/3 cup vegetable oil

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Mix ingredients in a bowl until they are nicely mixed (using your clean hands is usually the best way to get a good consistency).

Next step:

– Serve and ENJOY!!!

